love languages

I start to really reflect as the year comes to a close and the new year begins. I don’t do resolutions to lose weight or better myself — I just have no interest. I’d like to work out more, sure but that’s more of a weekly/monthly goal than an over-arching goal I set. My husband has talked about his love-language (physical touch) but I’ve never really taken the time to think about mine.

I’m reading a memoir/self-help book and the author talks about her love language and her husband’s and it triggered my thoughts about it. So, I did what anyone else would do — I hopped on Google and took a quiz to learn about my language. It’s interesting because it’s not something I’ve ever thought about before.

The highest score you can get in any category is a 12. Quality time was 10 for me and Acts of Service, 9. I think this hits the nail on the head completely for how I prefer to receive love and how I naturally express love. It also makes me think about why I get really upset when I am unable to perform acts of service and/or quality time is stunted due to other engagements.

I am going to try to be more mindful of my love languages and those of my family members in the new year so that I am making more of an attempt to meet the emotional needs of everyone in our household.

What is your love language?

2 thoughts on “love languages

    • It’s funny because Brad has talked about this and I always just kind of rolled my eyes… I think more than quality time, mine is acts of service but I never really thought about it until the last book I was reading.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s